Come on in Number Three

I have been known to do some silly things to get various locomotive and wagon photographs, and the other day added to that list.  Factors that will stop me going out in the UK nowadays (In no particular order);

#1 Weather.  If it’s cold and wet I really am not interested.

#2 Work.  With the best will in the world sometimes work gets in the way of the hobby.  Disgusting but true.

#3 Sleep.  I value sleep, it’s a commodity I have appreciated more and more as I have got older.  Alas, #2 normally gets in the way of #3.

So the conundrum.  I had been working a run of night shifts, I was rostered 12 hours from 14:00 to 02:00 and the weather was forecast to be cold and wet.  Why the issue? Well 59 003, absent from these shores for over 17 years had returned at last.  I dealt with the shift issue at work by palming off the extra hours to someone else.  The weather I had no control over, and sleep? well sleep comes eventually.

59 003 (259 001-6) is hauled through Tamworth (High Level) by 20 311 & 20 314 on Monday the 13th of October 2014 as part of 0Z59, the 11:00 hours special service from Immingham Mineral Quays to Eastleigh Depot

59 003 (259 001-6) is hauled through Tamworth (High Level) by 20 311 & 20 314 on Monday the 13th of October 2014 as part of 0Z59, the 11:00 hours special service from Immingham Mineral Quays to Eastleigh Depot

The photo is never going to win any awards but at least I do have a shot of it in Heavy Haul Power International (HHPI) livery.  GBRf have stated their intention is to repaint the locomotive once it has been fitted with all the modern gubbins required to run on British metals again.  Typical really, that it has resided in Germany for 17 years and I have not got a shot of it.

I have also scanned my old images of the class 59s when they first arrived in the UK.  Sods law also dictates the following.  I was at an Open Day at Merehead Depot in 1986 (yes I was 12 years old), all the Foster Yeoman Class 59s were there, did I get a photo of it? NO!

59 001 sits at Merehead Depot on the 28th of June 1986.

59 001 sits at Merehead Depot on the 28th of June 1986.

Last image for this little blog post is one that came through work whilst I was there. Class 59s are like rocking horse do do, very rare at Rugby station.

59 203 is hauled through Rugby station on the 11th of August 2014 whilst in the consist of 0A06 13:35 hours from Crewe to Wembley

59 203 is hauled through Rugby station on the 11th of August 2014 whilst in the consist of 0A06 13:35 hours from Crewe to Wembley

~ by gingespotting on October 15, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
