I have an addiction

Hi, my name is Andy and I have an addiction.  For some reason I like certain red and yellow vehicles on the German rail network.  Just like I can not rationally explain why I like to photograph trains I can neither explain why I really like DB breakdown and recovery trains or the DB Netz fleet of track recorders etc.  So if it is involved in making sure things don’t break, or involved in clearing up the aftermath when things have gone wrong then I have a fascination with it.  Yes, I am weird.

After another spring and summer pushing the limits of how many times one can go abroad on holiday without the better half and not find myself single it is now time to start sorting out the images and getting them shared and uploaded.  I am reasonably on top of the locomotive images but I am currently two years behind with the wagon images, whilst the coaching stock and miscellaneous images have never been uploaded at all.  To feed the addiction when I am not in Germany I am slowly but surely building up a fleet of said vehicles for my HO European layout which is currently under construction.  The visits and modelling join up when I need detail images of projects currently on my workbench.  This summer I was able to feed both monsters at the same time so I figured it was about time I got the images uploaded.

The first image is one of two vehicles I have a fascination with.

Class 716 Snowblower, number 716 002-1 sits at Fulda (D) on the 25th of October 2014

Class 716 Snowblower, number 716 002-1 sits at Fulda (D) on the 25th of October 2014

The Class 716 Snowblower fleet comprises of two vehicles.  They were built in 1994 to serve the Hannover to Würzburg high speed line but are now utilised across the German rail network.  They have the ability to clear 16,000 tons of snow per hour, throwing the snow 40 metres from the track.  The vehicle body can raise up and spin round 180 degrees.  The model company Roco released a model of 716 003-9 (Article number 72802 for DC) and since its release I have wanted one.  It’s been like an itch I could not scratch as the recommend retail price was a mere.. 519,00€.  With the best will in the world, get stuffed.  I am not going to pay that sort of money for a model that mainly sits in a siding.  The price now has been dropped down to 349,00€ which was tempting but still a no go.  Earlier this month one came available from a dealer I have used before for a greatly reduced price.  The model is fully DCC, sound fitted, and even lifts up and spins 180 degrees just like the real thing.  Now I realise these “one offs” cost some serious money to produce but why not sell them without all the electrical wizardry as well.  A classic (in my mind) example of this is Trix item number 23540.  A DCC fitted, operating “Goliath” crane, yours for the minor sum of 999,00€ RRP.  I am no longer nine, therefore the need to have a crane which picks up the train I have derailed is no longer required.  I wouldn’t mind a crane that can sit in a siding, and once in a while get hauled around the layout though.  Based on that, why not sell the crane without the DCC special stuff.  You have the moulds, make use of them.  Whilst I am on this little mini-rant,  paint it in red as well so I can have an excuse to buy it.  This leads me nicely onto my next photo, no, not a Goliath crane but its replacements, the Kirow Taskmaster 910 & the Kirow Taskmaster 1200.

Emergency Crane Kirow Multitasker 910, number 99 80 9471 005-5 sits at Fulda (D) on the 24th of April 2016

Emergency Crane Kirow Multitasker 910, number 99 80 9471 005-5 sits at Fulda (D) on the 24th of April 2016

 

Emergency Crane Kirow Multitasker 1200 , number 99 80 9471 003-0 (723 003) sits at Wanna-Eickel (D) on the 23rd of August 2016

Emergency Crane Kirow Multitasker 1200 , number 99 80 9471 003-0 (732 003) sits at Wanna-Eickel (D) on the 23rd of August 2016

Three of the KRC1200 have been ordered and delivered.  Their home stabling points being Fulda, Leipzig and Wanna-Eickel.  Typically every time I had been to Fulda I had missed the KRC1200 but was able to photograph the KRC910.  The two KRC910s are based at Fulda and Wanna-Eickel.  Why the interest between the two cranes? Well I have a kit of the KRC1200 to build in the very near future and I wanted to get some decent shots of it to assist me with detailing the model.  Both of the cranes can either be hauled (100km/h) or they can self-propel (19km/h).  As previously stated, I have no need for a crane boom that goes up and down, nor for it to crawl along on its own so a kit is perfect for me.  I get the looks but no requirement for all the electrical trickery.

The cranes are supported with converted “Res” wagons, used for carrying the boom and other associated tools.

Materialwagen for KRC1200 732 003 (99 80 9471 003-0), number 99 80 9370 072-7 sits at Wanna-Eickel (D) on the 23rd of August 2016

Materialwagen for KRC1200 732 003 (99 80 9471 003-0), number 99 80 9370 072-7 sits at Wanna-Eickel (D) on the 23rd of August 2016

I currently have two of these vehicles stripped on my workbench ready for conversion, with more work planned on them tomorrow when I get a delivery of some plasticard.  A question for someone who may know.  What is the metal vessel in front of the red container? It has warning symbols etc on it.  I only ask as if I know what it is I can see if anyone makes one in HO scale already, therefore saving me time scratch building it.

The other vehicle associated with the KRC1200 is the counterweight wagon.  I have no idea of the history of this wagon.  From the way the frame is formed my brain says an ex tank wagon of some description but I have yet to find a donor vehicle for this.  Then again, it might be a brand new wagon in which case I have two options.  Write to Kirow and ask if they have any plans or go back to Wanna-Eickel with a tape measure.  This wagon might go down as a “long term project”, and we all know how they turn out.

Gegenlastwagen for KRC1200 732 003 (99 80 9471 003-0), number 99 80 9377 003-5 sits at Wanna-Eickel (D) on the 23rd of August 2016

Gegenlastwagen for KRC1200 732 003 (99 80 9471 003-0), number 99 80 9377 003-5 sits at Wanna-Eickel (D) on the 23rd of August 2016

Normally I would list every gallery I have uploaded but this time, everything in the Miscellaneous section is new, so feel free to follow the link and have a browse of the weird and wonderful special vehicles that run over the DB network.

Germany:

Miscellaneous

~ by gingespotting on September 27, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
